Guernsey Tour 2009

The team just before saturday's game *

Wymeswold Veteran Footballers Guernsey Tour  18th - 20th September 2009

Wymeswold's Veteran Footballers enjoyed a weekend away on the Channel Island of Guernsey, and came back with a win after a 4-3 win over the Guernsey Government FC.

The 17-strong party - with an average age of 47 - flew out from East Midlands Airport on Friday 18th on their ninth annual tour, and their second visit to the Channel Islands after visiting Jersey in 2003.

After enjoying a look round the island's capital St Peter Port on Friday evening, on Saturday the party headed across the island to play the Government side in a game which had been arranged through the Guernsey FA.

The island side included the equivalent of our Prime Minister, Guernsey's First Minister Linden Trott, and it was Trott who put the home side ahead in the 10th minute after beating goalkeeper Jim Coggan.

Wymeswold's Kevin Sayce scored from close range five minutes later, and then Tony Myers latched onto a defensive mistake to lift the ball over the goalkeeper and put the visitors 2-1 ahead. Brian Carr added a third with a near-post flick just before half time, but the islanders recovered after the break and pulled two goals back to level matters.

Shane O'Leary showed some delicate touches on the ball and Dave Vickery missed a chance to score, then late on Stuart Frobisher threw up an opportunity.

However, it was Mark Dunton who settled the issue with a strike from the edge of the box with 10 minutes remaining to restore Wymeswold's lead. A nervous final few minutes saw Guernsey try to grab the draw, but the touring vets hung on for a 4-3 victory.

After the game the Government team entertained Wymeswold in St Peter Port, and on Sunday the group had the chance to explore the island - taking a swim off Vazon Bay and visiting Fort Grey - before heading back to East Midlands Airport after a very enjoyable weekend.


* (Back Row, left to right) Mike MacDonald, Dave Vickery, Gareth Smith, Shane O'Leary, Jim Coggan, Stuart Frobisher, Nigel Heaton, Mark Dunton, Richard Bowley. 

(Front Row, left to right) Tony Myers, Kevin Sayce, Chris McKinney, Alan Sturmey, Brian Carr, Mark Yates, Pete Henson, Nick Shaw